Of Synonyms and Meanings.

I believe in the truth of the English Dictionary. I trust in it. I know how to use it and how important it is to use it. I know it will ensure that I use the right word at the right time. And then there are the non-believers, who take pride in the fact that they don’t own the book of words.

So yes; it is a sorry state of affairs. Just imagine all the drama a simple application could cause if just one word was replaced with its own synonym.

This:

Sir,

I beg to state, that I have an urgent piece of work at home, to complete it I require two days
i.e. 15th Feb-16th Feb. Kindly grant me leave for these two days.
With utmost respect,
XYZ.

Could turn into:
Sir,
I sue to state…

Sir,
I beg to state, that I have a touchy piece…

Sir,
I beg to state, that I have an urgent piece of elbow-grease at home…
Or how about,
Sir,
I beg to state, that I have an urgent piece of muscle at home…

Sir,
I beg to state, that I have an urgent piece of work at home, to complete it I am hurting for two days..

Sir,
I beg to state, that I have an urgent piece of work at home, to complete it I require two days
i.e. 15th Feb-16th Feb. Kindly lump me…

Sir,
I beg to state, that I have an urgent piece of work at home, to complete it I require two days
i.e. 15th Feb-16th Feb. Kindly grant me green light for these two days…

Sir,
I beg to state, that I have an urgent piece of work at home, to complete it I require two days
i.e. 15th Feb-16th Feb. Kindly grant me leave for these two days.
With too-too respect…

How about no.. Just no.

Well, if you aren’t cringing at this mess of words I have created; you might argue that technically the sentence means the same thing. It IS a synonym.

Which would make me wince ( not “eat dirt or quail or kneel”) because I have a dictionary while you obviously don’t.

Leave a Reply

